Title: 6th Ed. Rules Questions
bbart - July 3, 2012 12:20 PM (GMT)
Hey, figured we could use a post to sort some of these out.
1. So new wound allocation seems a bit goofy. Lets say I have eldrad in the front of a unit of harlequins. You shoot harlies and get 5 wounds. Since they are mixed armor saves I apply the first wound to closest model (Eldrad) and get my rerollable 3++. I then do this again (?!?!) until wound pool is empty. If it is S8 I just 2+ Look out sir. Basically Eldrad became an impenetrable sheild. Am I reading this correctly or is this some eldar wet dream?
2. How does DT work if the unit is mixed nowadays. Lets use eldrad and the harlies. Harlies ignore difficult terrain, eldrad doesn't. Do they still move at slowest speed (so roll DT). If they do not move at slowest speed, what if the unit straddles a piece of area terrain and Eldrad is out of area terrain, do I still roll DT?
Well thats all I got for the time being.... I'll keep them coming and so should you!
Lochaber - July 3, 2012 01:56 PM (GMT)
1. More or less correct. Eldrad in the front gets 5 LoS rolls, if he wants to take them. If the five wounds are all the same wound pool, you roll those five on Eldrad, with a reroll from Fortune/Precognition if you have it up. If they're different wound pools, the shooting player decides what order you take them in, but it's pretty much the same beyond that. Note that Barrage weapons always pick their targets from the closest models to the hole of the blast marker, not simply the closest target to the firer.
2. Movement is on a model-per-model basis, so if you want to you can move all your harlequins freely and keep Eldrad in the open and no terrain tests will be made. Circumstances where this does not apply: Charges and Falling Back. The Fleet rule requires ALL models in the unit to have Fleet for the unit to benefit when rolling charge distance. Models always take Fall Back moves at the speed of the slowest model in the unit. If a single model in the unit charges through difficult terrain, the entire unit gets slowed to I1 unless they have assault grenades.
Lochaber - July 4, 2012 04:44 AM (GMT)
So at the top of p. 80 it lists what happens to units embarked in transports when their vehicle takes a roll on the damage chart. What it doesn't say is whether those effects persist if A) the transport vehicle is wrecked as a result of the penetrating hit scratching the last hullpoint from the vehicle or B) the unit disembarks from the transport. Any ideas?
Matt - July 4, 2012 04:50 PM (GMT)
If the vehicle is wrecked I'd assume the unit inside immediately disembarks. I don't know the effects your referring to but I'd guess they would persist for as long as the effect says it does. If it doesn't say I'd assume for the rest of the phase/turn.
What about non-barrage blast/large blast and templates? Such as grenade launchers and flamers. I was playing that you allocate the wounds exactly like you said for barrages but with all blasts. It wouldn't make sense for my grenade to scatter to the back of the unit and kill a model on the otherside thats "closest" to the firer. With flamers I was playing that you remove the models closest to the flamer and within the template. It seemed to make sense to me, but I didn't come across this when I was reading the rulebook.
Lochaber - July 4, 2012 05:02 PM (GMT)
Blasts still remove models closest to the firer first, even if it scatters onto the back of the unit. The only exception to this is Barrage fire, which always takes wounds from the center of the blast marker.
Matt - July 4, 2012 10:11 PM (GMT)
Does this include nonbarrage ordnance?
Lochaber - July 4, 2012 10:16 PM (GMT)
All blast weapons resolve wound allocation as normal unless they're Barrage.