Title: I still get confused
Description: Warmachine rules - combat actions
Mord - October 2, 2011 03:34 PM (GMT)
I read through my rulebook but somehow still get confused by which type, and how many of the different types of combat actions I'm allowed to make in a turn with say, a warjack.
Between special attacks or *Attack, power attacks, charge attacks, and then things like my Phoenix's *Attack-Combustion which says you're allowed to make normal combat actions after doing it.....I'm a little turned around on when I can do things and how often.
Specifically, if I charge with a warjack are *Attacks still allowed at all? More specifically, if I make a charge with my retribution Phoenix and then combust (a *attack), is the first attack after the combustion boosted since the *Attack-Combustion says you can make normal attacks after combusting? Would another way of looking at it be that I could charge, make the initial charge attack with a melee weapon, and then do the *attack-combustion?
Any thoughts welcome.
doremicom - October 2, 2011 04:01 PM (GMT)
So, a *Attack cannot be combined with a charge unless it strictly states it within the card.
A *Attack replaces all initial attacks (ie, if you were using the *Attack on the Ironclad - which knocks down all opponents 2" from him, you forgo using the hammer and fist attack and would only be able to attack further if you had focus on the Ironclad to spend on additional attacks).
Hope this helps.
Doblin James - October 2, 2011 05:03 PM (GMT)
Wait, what? I thought you were allowed to do *attacks on the charge so long as the *attack was listed under the weapon rather than on the jack itself, and you can't do *actions on the charge period.
For example: The Castigator has combustion as a *attack. It is not listed under any particular weapon system, therefore, it cannot use it on the charge. (I would have used the Phoenix here, but I don't know if Combustion is written above or below "big flaming sword" and I didn't want to confuse anyone) On the other hand, the Vanquisher has the *attack Thresher, which is listed as part of the weapon system "Blazing Star." I remember getting into an argument with someone about whether all the damage rolls from a thresher charge attack are boosted or not. I can't remember what we eventually went with. I seem to remember my opponent charge-threshered my Knights Exemplar, and I was irritated because if they were all boosted it would have guaranteed a wipe out of the remainder of the squad.
Anyway, that's my understanding of it.
WYSIWYG - October 2, 2011 06:45 PM (GMT)
Wow, the warmachine rules seem overly complicated to me.
Mord - October 2, 2011 09:03 PM (GMT)
Thanks guys. So combustion on the Phoenix is written out just as a *Attack and not under any specific weapon. It says:
"Models within 2" of this model suffer a POW 12 fire damage roll and the Fire continuous effect. This model can make additional melee attacks after making this special attack."
I've since reread the section on combat actions and the book actually uses "additional melee attacks" with specific reference to spending focus to buy additional attacks. Earlier I thought that "additional melee attacks might refer to just using it's weapons to make "initial" attacks after doing the *Attack-Combustion, but as Brian said and I confirmed with the book, *Attacks replace those swings.
However, IF a *Attack IS listed under a specific weapon(s) and you CAN charge and still use the *Attack under said weapon(s), then I will have to seriously consider taking a Manticore again with Combo Strike. A charging Manticore would book it 9" and make one hit at POW 20...boosted..... 3D6+20 damage just sounds "wrong" somehow.
I'm still trying to find how the charge attack can't be a *Attack if the *Attack is listed under a weapon (IE- Manticore's Saber fists combo striking)
doremicom - October 3, 2011 04:32 AM (GMT)
I will spell out the definitive rule here.
The weapon cannot make a *Attack unless the *Attack says it can be used in a charge (i.e. the Iroclad's Tremor Attack which says "This model can make a Tremor special attack if it charges")
Hope this helps.
Doblin James - October 4, 2011 12:00 AM (GMT)
|QUOTE (WYSIWYG @ Oct 2 2011, 06:45 PM)|
| Wow, the warmachine rules seem overly complicated to me. |
Haha, they are FAR easier to learn than 40k.
Anyway, I guess I messed that rule up, lol.